World Backups

Creating backups of your worlds is as easy as pressing a button. On your servers page, check the box to the left of your server's name, and click the Live Control button on the bottom of the page.

Now, navigate to the World Options tab on the Live control page.

Backup frequency

A common question that we get is: Can we increase the frequency of the automatic backups?

The short answer is: No, you cannot. Clanforge creates a backup of your main world once a day. This is the same for all services across all of our machines in the entire world. It cannot be changed because it is only a convenience that we offer. If you wish to create additional backups, simply use the backup features in Clanforge (explained later in this article).

Create a backup

To create a backup, simply press the Manual Backup button. For vanilla servers, this will create a .tar.gz (archive) of your current overworld, nether and end. For Bukkit servers, it will only include your overworld. This file can be downloaded by going to Clanforge -> Server -> Files -> Backups. The newest file will be the one you just created.

Since the new Betaforge has been introduced, a few changes to this menu have been made. You can now select which world(s) you want to backup.

Restore a backup

Like the Files -> Backups list, the newest backup in the list will be the newest snapshot of your world.

Select the one you want to restore, and press the Restore World button to the right. A little dialog box will open up; press yes. Your world will save, your server will shut down, and the world you selected will be restored. Afterward, the server will be restarted and your restored world will be playable.

Reset your world

The final option on World Options tab is to reset your world. Clicking this will ask you to confirm whether you're sure you want to reset. If you click yes, your world will be deleted and regenerated by Minecraft using whatever seed you have set in your server.properties.

This option cannot be undone, so be sure to create a backup before you do it if you're not sure if you want to keep the new world!

Since the new Betaforge has been introduced, a few changes to this menu have been made. You can now select which world(s) you want to reset.

Minecraft Worlds

Worlds are where the magic happens in Minecraft. It's where you place blocks, where you fight enemies, and where Ender Dragons swoop down to destroy all the things you've ever loved.

Your world name (and consequently, the name of the world folder) is set in your server.properties file in the level-name=world variable. If you change this value, you effectively change the currently loaded world. By default, this variable is set to world, and will also be the name of your world backups (in Clanforge -> Files -> Backups).

If you change the name of your world to a world that already exists in the server folder, Minecraft will attempt to load the world that is already generated (or convert a legacy world to the newest format) in that world directory. If you keep a list of your world names, you can effectively switch between worlds at any time without needing to use the world backup features in Clanforge.

Seeds

Minecraft has a fairly unique method of generating specific worlds using a string of characters as a key, which is known as a "seed." You can specify a seed by changing the level-seed=[enter a seed here] variable in your server.properties. If you want to generate a world with a specific seed, you will either have to generate an all-new world (by creating a new one) or reset your current world (using the method above to reset the main world).

Install a World via FTP

There is an alternative to using the Clanforge uploading system for Worlds. You can install a world entirely via FTP.

Firstly, use this guide to set up your FTP client.

Once you have done this, there are two methods you can use to install the world.

The first way is to create a zip file of the world with a name that matches our backup system's naming scheme, worldname-2013-11-22-13-49-30.zip and place it in the backups directory on your FTP. The second way is to upload the world folder into your server directory, and then change your server.properties file in ClanForge under Profiles -> Configs, altering the level-name option to match the world name.

Install a Manual Backup

Our system has a specific naming scheme for backups which allow it to read the date and time of the backup's creation. This follows the form of: worldname-year-date-time. An example of this is world-2013-11-22-10-15-53.zip. That's a world whose folder is named "world," and it was installed November 22nd (11-22) at 10:15:53.

This file should be added to the "backups" folder via FTP. Once it's done, refresh the backup list on Clanforge and, if you named the file correctly, it will appear as a backup. Restore the file, and your world will be installed.

Upload the World Folder

Once you have installed and configured your FTP client, simply drag your world folder into the server file directory (via FTP, it can be found in the minecraft/beta/[your server ID] folder).

Once the files are done transferring, open Clanforge.

  • Click on the blue "Manage" button next to your server's name.
  • Hover over "Profiles" on the left side of the page and click "Configs."
  • Select server.properties by clicking on it.
  • Find the line which starts with "level-name"
  • Change the value following the equal sign to the name of the world folder you just uploaded. If the folder was titled "MyWorld," you would set the following: level-name=MyWorld
  • Click Save & Apply.

If you have done this correctly, your server will restart and the new world should be set up on the server.

server.properties

   # This setting determines the name of your world, and the name of the folder that contains it.
   # Any change to this setting will generate a new world with the given name.
   level-name=world
   
   # This setting is a unique key that tells Minecraft how you want to generate the specified world.
   # The same seed will always generate the same world.
   level-seed=my seed
   
   # This setting changes the type of world that is generated.
   # DEFAULT is the default method of generating worlds. It will create mountains, caves, etc. This is, obviously, the default setting.
   # FLAT will generate an entirely flat world with no resources except a layer of dirt, a layer of stone, and a layer of bedrock.
   # LARGEBIOMES will generate a world with only a few enormous biomes.
   level-type=DEFAULT
   
   # This setting tells the generator whether or not you want villages and strongholds to be generated in the world.
   generate-structures=true